in Horror Movie Reviews

Alfred Hitchcock Presents – Seasons 1-7 Review

Alfred Hitchcock Presents Seasons 1-7

Alfred Hitchcock Presents Seasons 1-7 is a fantastic DVD box set for any fan of Hitchcock’s iconic TV series to have in their collection. In fact, I would even go as far as to say that it is one of the BEST box sets of ANY TV series I have ever seen.

Alfred Hitchcock Presents ran from 1955 to 1962. This was proceeded by The Alfred Hitchcock Hour (1962-1965) and revisited in the ’80s for Alfred Hitchcock Presents (1985-1989). A half hour anthology offering a wide range of suspense, mystery, thriller and horror stories, the series was created, hosted and produced by the Master of Suspense himself. It is well-known for its Hitchcock-signature theme tune: Charles Gounod’s “Funeral March of a Marionette”. It is also fondly remembered for Hitchcock’s regular book-ending of each episode, in which he exhibits his usual black humour whilst occasionally brandishing such murderous props as a handgun, a rope or a guillotine.

Another great characteristic of the show was that each episode often featured such top household names as William Shatner, Martin Balsam, Charles Bronson, Vincent Price and many more.

Of course, as is usual with box sets of this kind, you do get the odd episode that is less than perfect, but on the whole, most of the stories in all seven of these seasons are very well-written and highly enjoyable. The good far outweighs the bad, and that’s certainly good enough for me.

You can now relive that golden age of TV nostalgia over and over again with this awesome box set. An absolute MUST BUY for any Alfred Hitchcock fan.

You can buy this DVD box set of Alfred Hitchcock Presents – Seasons 1-7 by clicking on the image link above this review.

Alan Toner

free horror books